2018 Special Award Winners

    2018 Special Award Winners

    2018 Swede Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award

     Lisa Cutter | Cutter Communications

    Lisa Cutter founded Cutter Communications in 1998. A 25-year PR veteran, she is well respected for her media, partnership and crisis expertise. Her programs have garnered local and national awards, including several Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Colorado Gold and Silver Picks, the organization’s small practice of the year award, and its highest honor – the Grand Gold Pick for a comprehensive PR campaign.  In 2010, the Denver Business Journal recognized Lisa as the city’s Outstanding Woman in Business in the communications industry. Lisa believes in investing her time and talent in the things that make her community and profession stronger. Working to position PRSA Colorado as an advocate for strategic and ethical communications, she spearheaded partnerships with The Denver Press Club, KMGH TV and The Denver Post to hold issues forums during the 2016 elections, Visit Denver to provide PR support for the 2008 Democratic Convention and University of Denver to provide PR support for the 2012 Presidential Debates.

    2018 Public Relations Person of the Year

     Jessica Berry | University of Colorado Hospital

    Jessica Berry is a spokesperson for UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital.  She places well over 100 positive local and national stories a year for UCHealth, in addition to responding to the frequent requests for experts and handling crisis communications.  She brings a rich mixture of military and journalism experience to the position. After graduating from the University of Colorado in 2000 with a degree in Communications, she traveled the country working in television news for stations in Texas, Montana, Alabama and Georgia

    2018 Business Person of the Year

     Cindy Mackin | City of Loveland

    Cindy has been in marketing and destination development for over 22 years, with a start in marketing of destination events at outlet malls all over Colorado. Creating excitement in everything she did led to her earning many SASI awards within the industry. Learning from the best teachers, Gary Light and Peggy Ziglin, she took this “creative marketing” training that she received and started a career of Destination Marketing Management for the City of Loveland.

    2018 Joe Fuentes Rookie of the Year

     Kayla Roofe | RE/MAX

    She may be small, but she is mighty. With national and local communications and marketing experience, Kayla Roofe has planned and executed winning campaigns for some of Colorado’s heavy-hitters, including JKD & Company, Fyn Public Relations and RE/MAX World Headquarters. Kayla started her career with PRSA as a student at Colorado State University when she joined the student PRSSA chapter where she eventually helped restart the RAM PR Agency and lead the chapter as Vice President in her senior year. Through a variety of PR and social media internships, such as JKD & Company, Colorado Avalanche and Hach Company, Kayla developed her skills as a young professional in the work field early-on. Kayla serves as Vice Chair for PRSA Colorado’s Communications Committee.

    2018 Chapter Service Award

     Megan Ryan | CoBiz Financial

    Megan Ryan has lived in Denver since 2013. She is originally from Kansas and moved to Colorado from New Mexico. She graduated from Kansas State University with a degree in Public Relations and Hotel Restaurant Management in 2002 – go wildcats! Building communities and connecting people are passions for Megan. Megan has always been a passionate community volunteer from mentoring youth through Big Brothers Big Sisters to granting wishes for sick children through Make A Wish Foundation to organizing employee volunteer projects. She supports the CoBiz Cares Employee Foundation and is a member of the organizing committee for the semiannual Biz Bash, a concert fundraiser produced by CoBiz Financial. Megan chairs PRSA Colorado’s Membership Recruitment Committee and helps run the organization’s Employee Communications Group.

    2018 Public Relations Team of the Year

     March on Colorado | Picture from left to right are Liz Miller, Lisa Cutter, Stacey Sepp, APR and Cara Crifasi

    On January 21, 2017, the Women’s March on Colorado brought more than 150,000 people together in the streets of downtown Denver to march in solidarity for social justice, human rights and equality for women and all marginalized people across the U.S. The inaugural Women’s March on Colorado was a spontaneous, grassroots effort motivated by the national Women’s March in Washington, D.C., and sister marches around the country. The March demonstrated the power of our combined voices and galvanized many to run for public office and many others to stay engaged in the political process to make change.  Following the 2017 March, March on Colorado (MOC) leaders found themselves in a unique position.  People were looking for leadership on how to get involved in the political process, and to March on Colorado specifically, for ways to move forward following the inaugural March. As MOC leaders came together to decide what the future of the group would look like, they knew that public relations would still need to be a key component of the movement going forward.  Lisa Cutter, owner of Cutter Communications in Denver, led public relations for the 2017 March and spearheaded the effort to bring a larger PR team together to keep the momentum going. She assembled a team of local PR professionals who expressed interest in volunteering their time to the organization and its mission. Over the next few months that team took shape to include three other PR professionals, Cara Crifasi, Liz Miller and Stacey Sepp.