2014 Winners

    2014 Special Award Winners:

    2014 PR Person of the Year Award

    Molly A. Keveney | The WhiteWave Foods Company

    Molly A. Keveney has spent more than 20 years as a strategic communicator, managing in-house communications departments and acting as a client counselor for agency teams. She has significant experience serving Fortune 500 companies in the areas of executive communications, employee communications, reputation management, agency management, media relations, social and digital media, crisis and issues management, community relations, corporate social responsibility and marketing communications. She also has deep industry expertise in the branded food and beverages categories.

    2014 Joe Fuentes Rookie of the Year Award

    Kersten M. Baldwin | City of Centennial

    Kersten Baldwin jumped right into the swing of things at PRSA Colorado by volunteering for the 2013 Gold Pick Committee. Right away she was involved in project management, tracking award entries and winners. She immersed herself in writing the program script and the details of event planning, at every step proving herself proficient and reliable beyond her years. Kersten joined PRSSA her senior year at Colorado State University and quickly saw the value of PRSA. She has used her membership to be part of a community, enhance her skills and keep on top of professional development.

    2014 PR Team of the Year Award

    Office of Communications, Colorado Department of Transportation

    Superheros and state government don’t always go hand in hand. But as the agency responsible for maintaining and building 23,000 miles of roads, the Colorado Department of Transportation needs a public relations division that can accomplish the amazing – communicating with millions of travelers, residents, businesses and others about their daily commutes and the vision for transportation in the state. CDOT’s Office of Communications manages all external and internal communications, media relations, social media, customer service, highway safety education campaigns, construction and design communications for a state agency whose job it is to keep Colorado moving today and tomorrow.

    2014 Chapter Service Award

    Lisa Newkirk | DCP Mainstream

    Lisa Newkirk is manager of public affairs for DCP Midstream, the No. 1 private company and No. 1 oil and gas company in terms of revenue in Denver. Lisa has been a proud PRSA Colorado member since 2012, serving this year as chairwoman of the membership committee. Lisa has focused on having committee members reach out with phone calls and a personal touch to all chapter members as they join or approach their renewal dates, as well as get feedback from those who decide to leave. She provides monthly membership metrics to the board to manage emerging issues. She has committed to organizing regular member orientations, bringing new members together with chapter leaders for an overview of the organization.

    2014 Mentor of the Year Award

    Amy B. Johnson

    Amy B. Johnson began her career in public relations in 1985, concentrating in business-to-business marketing communications. She joined PRSA in 1993. When she moved to Denver in 1999, she quickly became involved with the Colorado Chapter. Year after year, Amy has demonstrated her commitment and passion for the communications field, the Colorado Chapter and the overall health and future of our profession. She has a unique ability to push people to do more than they think they can. She sets the bar high and then uses encouragement and teamwork to accomplish something much bigger than the original plan. Amy thoroughly enjoys working with and alongside younger professionals. She approaches these mentoring opportunities from the perspective of what she can teach, as well as what she can learn. Amy is fully open to learning new things and seeing a new perspective.