PRSA Colorado Gold Pick Special Award Winners Announced

    By Lea Gralewski

    From the Colorado chapter’s 60th anniversary to the inspiring public relations campaigns and individual award winners, there is a lot to celebrate at this year’s Gold Pick Awards ceremony!

    The following is a list of the 2018 Gold Pick Special Award winners, nominated by industry peers and awarded to outstanding professionals in the field of public relations.

    Lisa Cutter

    Swede Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award– Lisa Cutter, Cutter Communications 

    As a 25-year PR veteran and founder of Cutter Communications, Lisa is well respected for her media, partnership and crisis expertise. Her programs have garnered local and national awards, including several PRSA Colorado Gold and Silver Picks, the organization’s small practice of the year award, and its highest honor – the Grand Gold Pick for a comprehensive PR campaign. Having served as a strategic advisor to many nonprofit organizations, Lisa actively works to position PRSA Colorado as an advocate for strategic and ethical communications.

    Megan Ryan

    Chapter Service Award – Megan Ryan, CoBiz Financial

    Megan has shown her passion for the community by volunteering for Big Brothers Big Sisters and Make A Wish Foundation as well as supporting the CoBiz Cares Employee Foundation and serving on the organizing committee for the CoBiz Financial concert fundraiser, Biz Bash. Her current position as ‎Internal Communications Manager at CoBiz revolves around employee engagement through community relations, wellness, company events and culture. Prior to becoming the PRSA Colorado chapter membership chair, Megan co-founded the Young Professionals of Albuquerque and was the director of marketing and events at Colorado Technology Association, producing more than 50 events per year for member companies. Megan chairs the chapter’s Member Recruitment Committee and helps run the organization’s Employee Communications Group.


    Cindy Mackin

    Business Person of the Year – Cindy Mackin, City of Loveland
    Cindy has been in marketing and destination development for over 22 years, starting in marketing of destination events at outlet malls across Colorado. Serving as the Visitor's Services Manager at City of Loveland CDME, she has accomplished many “firsts” for the City, including establishing a destination brand, tagline, website, social media channels, visitors guide and advertising campaigns, and creating a Visit Loveland strategic plan.


    Jessica Berry

    Public Relations Person of the Year – Jessica Berry, University of Colorado Hospital 

    Jessica Berry is a spokesperson for UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital. She places well over 100 positive local and national stories a year for UCHealth in addition to responding to the frequent requests for experts and handling crisis communications. With extensive experience handling media for military institutions, she served as a spokesperson for stations in Texas, Montana, Alabama and Georgia. 

    Kayla Roofe

    Joe Fuentes Rookie of the Year - Kayla Roofe, RE/MAX LLC

    Having joined the student PRSSA chapter while attending Colorado State University, Kayla now volunteers as Vice-Chair of the PRSA Colorado Communications Committee and serves as the Sr. PR & Social Media Coordinator for RE/MAX World Headquarters. Kayla has planned and executed winning campaigns for JKD & Company, Fyn Public Relations and RE/MAX World Headquarters as well as several nonprofit organizations, successfully leading clients through major crisis and brand reputation issues. 

    2018 Gold Pick Team of the Year: March on Colorado: Liz Miller,
    Lisa Cutter, Stacey Sepp, Cara Crifasi

    PRSA Team of the Year – March on Colorado

    On Jan. 21, 2017, the Women’s March on Colorado brought more than 150,000 people together in the streets of downtown Denver to march in solidarity for social justice, human rights and equality for women and marginalized people across the U.S. Following the historic March, leaders spearheaded the effort to bring a larger PR team together to keep the momentum going. Over the next few months that team took shape to include PR professionals Lisa Cutter, Cara Crifasi, Liz Miller and Stacey Sepp.

    These award winners will be recognized at the PRSA Colorado Gold Pick Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 10, at the Studio Loft at the Ellie Caulkins Opera House in Denver.


    Return to list